Tags

,

     I’m pretty sure most photographers have had the experience of discovering some hidden jewel amongst their files and not having the slightest clue, cue, or memory of ever having seen it much less consciously taken it.   I think of such occurances as “orphan images,”  and there are some common traits these stand-alone-images share.  For starters there is only one maybe two image(s) instead of the normal several the typical photographer takes, and what I usually make when a suitable subject gets my attention.  Secondly, when you do finally see one it demands your attentiveness, it tickles your curiosity, brings a little smile to your face.

        “Orphan images,” are likely to be harbingers, messages from the muses, and glimpses of new ways of perceiving the worlds we  indwell  as our lives unfold and as our art grows.  I have a couple of images that fit that category.   I bet most photographers do.

“Orpheus,” (left), is an orphan.  One of a kind. When I first saw it my jaw dropped and my mind quieted down.   This “Orpheus,” shines with some super-nova like light.  When I saw it I was stunned!  How could I have possibly missed this extra-ordinary back ground, this painterly light???  How could I have been mindless of this unusual bluish Dahlia?

                                  But, I did.  Sometimes art is like that.  

                                 Life often is I think?

       Life!  You catch a glimpse of it passing by, a shadow of another world just a heart beat away and hidden in the between, you gotta look for it in the gaps, listen for it in the silence and celebrate it when it appears.  Even if you have no clue what it means or what to do with it.  Orphan images can have a way of foreshadowing things yet to come.

This is a multiple exposure, I am sure of that but thats all I am sure of.
doc rob

